In October 2015, the Insurance Brokers Association of Ontario (IBAO) recognized the top performing brokers and brokerages throughout the province at their annual Awards of Excellence Gala. The gala was the final event of the association’s 95th annual Convention held in Toronto. Every year, the Awards of Excellence highlight the achievements and initiatives of the IBAO’s most outstanding members.

This year the Danny Craig Spirit Award was created and named after CMR Founder and past IBAO President, Danny Craig who passed away in 2014 and it is given to a broker who has displayed commitment to the betterment of the broker channel and their community and has built and strengthened the broker brand by representing the profession with integrity.

The inaugural winner of the Danny Craig Spirit Award was Chris Floyd, President of the Individual Insurance Services at Ontario Teachers Insurance Plan (OTIP). Chris is also the outgoing Chairman of the IBAO and served as the association’s 71st President in 2014. He joined the executive of the Insurance Brokers Association of Canada (IBAC) this year.

Upon winning the award Chris said the following: “It is truly an honor to receive the inaugural Danny Craig Spirit Award,” said Floyd. “Danny was such an influential and inspirational man who gave so much of his time to IBAO and IBAC not to mention his community. I’m grateful for the time I spent with Danny and for being recognized by Melanie, Michael and Ryan at our convention. It was a wonderful surprise and having them there made it that much more special. I hope I can live up to Danny’s very high standards.”

CMR Insurance would like to congratulate Chris who is well deserving of the award and also thank the IBAO for recognizing Danny’s spirit and contribution to the broker channel